Day in Court

Depth Chart

Game Preview







Guy Denied — Again

Ray Guy is still waiting.

The former Raiders punter wasn’t among six players elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Feb. 2 in Glendale, Ariz.

Guy, 58, has been a finalist seven times, including the past two years. He has been eligible for induction to the Hall of Fame for 17 years.

A punter has never been elected to the Hall of Fame.

Two former Washington Redskins, cornerback Darrell Green and wide receiver Art Monk, head the Class of 2008. The other enshrinees are New England Patriots linebacker Andre Tippett, San Diego/San Francisco defensive end Fred Dean, Minnesota/Denver tackle Gary Zimmerman and senior committee nominee, Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Emmitt Thomas.

Inductions will be at the Pro Football Hall of Game in Canton, Ohio on Aug. 2.

Guy, right, had a career punting average of 42.4 yards after playing for the Raiders from 1973 to 1986. He played in seven Pro Bowls and was named All-Pro six times. The former Southern Mississippi All-America was the first punter ever selected in the first round (23rd by Oakland in 1973) of the NFL draft.

Also failing to be elected on Feb. 2 were Washington Redskins guard Russ Grimm, Buffalo Bills wide receiver Andre Reed, Denver Broncos linebacker Randy Gradishar, Chicago Bears defensive end Richard Dent, Miami Dolphins guard Bob Kuechenberg, Minnesota Vikings guard Randall McDaniel, and Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Derrick Thomas. Former NFL commissioner Paul Taglibue and senior committee nominee Marshall Goldberg also were not elected.

According to the HOF Web site, between four and seven new members will be selected each year. To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum of 80 percent of votes from a 44-member panel.

For more information on the Class of 2008, please click Pro Football Hall of Fame

Updated: 2-3-2008


Archives | Court | Home | Links | Schedule | Tickets